13-Episode Order for Del Toro’s The Strain

the strainMany may know that FX had a pilot order for The Strain, based on Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan’s vampire novel trilogy. That order has now been moved up to a complete series. FX has officially ordered 13 episodes, with a plan for the series to run for 39-65 episodes.

When FX initially received the project, after an all out bidding war with other networks, they were more than prepared for what would be a long run. They quickly hired a full writing staff and committed around $500,000 to creature creation. Now that’s confidence.

In case you didn’t know, here’s Amazon‘s description of the book:

They have always been here. Vampires. In secret and in darkness. Waiting. Now their time has come. In one week, Manhattan will be gone. In one month, the country. In two months–the world.

A Boeing 777 arrives at JFK and is on its way across the tarmac, when it suddenly stops dead. All window shades are pulled down. All lights are out. All communication channels have gone quiet. Crews on the ground are lost for answers, but an alert goes out to the CDC. Dr. Ephraim Goodweather, head of their Canary project, a rapid-response team that investigates biological threats, gets the call and boards the plane. What he finds makes his blood run cold.

In a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, a former professor and survivor of the Holocaust named Abraham Setrakian knows something is happening. And he knows the time has come, that a war is brewing . . .

So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected New York begins to spill out into the streets. Eph, who is joined by Setrakian and a motley crew of fighters, must now find a way to stop the contagion and save his city–a city that includes his wife and son–before it is too late.

Ephraim Goodweather will be played by Corey Stoll, who gave a great performance in season one of House of Cards. Co-starring on the series are Mia Maestro, Sean Astin, Kevin Durand, Natalie Brown, Jonathan Hyde, Richard Sammel, Robert Maillet, Jack Kesy, Ben Hyland, and Miguel Gomez.

Guillermo del Toro has directed the pilot episode.