AACTA 2024 Awards: Complete Winners List – ‘Talk to Me,’ Margot Robbie, ‘The Newsreader’ and More

Left to Right: Margot Robbie in ‘Barbie,’ Sophie Wilde in ‘Talk to Me,’ Anna Torv & Sam Reid in ‘The Newsreader’

Here are all the winners of the AACTA (Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards) Awards for 2024.

Aussie horror feature Talk to Me was the big winner on the film side of things. The film earned eight wins, including Best Film, Direction (Danny Philippou and Michael Philippo), and Best Lead Actress (Sophie Wilde).

Television winners included ABC series The Newsreader for Best Drama Series and Best Actress (Anna Torv); International winners included Barbie and Succession for Best Film and Best Drama Series, respectively; and Margot Robbie was among the Individual winners, taking home the 2024 Trailblazer Award.

Take a look at the complete list of winners below – along with some of the footage the AACTA officially shared from the awards night and respective trailers:


  • Best Film: Talk to Me – Samantha Jennings, Kristina Ceyton – Causeway Films
  • Best Direction in Film: Talk to Me – Danny Philippou, Michael Philippo
  • Best Lead Actor in Film: Aswan Reid – The New Boy
  • Best Lead Actress in Film: Sophie Wilde – Talk to Me
  • Best Supporting Actor in Film: Hugo Weaving – The Rooster
  • Best Supporting Actress in Film: Deborah Mailman – The New Boy
  • Best Casting in Film: Shayda – Anousha Zarkesh
  • Best Cinematography in Film: The New Boy – Warwick Thornton
  • Best Costume Design in Film: Carmen – Emily Seresin
  • Best Editing in Film: Talk to Me – Geoff Lamb
  • Best Hair and Makeup: Talk to Me – Rebecca Buratto, Paul Katte, Nick Nicolaou
  • Best Indie Film: Limbo – Ivan Sen (Dir.), David Jowsey, Greer Simpkin, Rachel Higgins – Bunya Productions
  • Best Original Score in Film: Talk to Me – Cornel Wilczek
  • Best Production Design in Film: The New Boy – Amy Baker
  • Best Screenplay in Film: Talk to Me – Danny Philippou, Bill Hinzman
  • Best Sound in Film: Talk to Me – Emma Bortignon, Pete Smith, Nick Steele


  • Best Drama Series: The Newsreader – Joanna Werner, Michael Lucas – Werner Film Productions (ABC)
  • Best Narrative Comedy Series: Colin From Accounts – Ian Collie, Rob Gibson, Patrick Brammall, Harriet Dyer – Easy Tiger (Binge, Foxtel)
  • Best Lead Actor in a Drama: Hugo Weaving – Love Me
  • Best Lead Actress in a Drama: Anna Torv – The Newsreader
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Drama: Hunter Page-Lochard – The Newsreader
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama: Heather Mitchell – Love Me
  • Best Acting in a Comedy: Kate Box – Deadloch
  • Best Children’s Program: Bluey – Joe Brumm, Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor, Daley Pearson – Ludo Studio (ABC)
  • Best Comedy Entertainment Program: Hard Quiz – Chris Walker, Kevin Whyte, Tom Gleeson, John Tabbagh – Thinkative Television and ABC (ABC)
  • Best Comedy Performer: Cal Wilson – The Great Australian Bake Off
  • Best Factual Entertainment Program: Old People’s Home for Teenagers – Tony De La Pena, Tara McWilliams, Emily Potts – Endemol Shine Australia (ABC)
  • Best Lifestyle Program: Gardening Australia – Gill Lomas – ABCTV (ABC)
  • Best Miniseries: The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart – Jodi Matterson, Bruna Papandrea, Steve Hutensky, Barbara Gibbs, Sarah Lambert, Glendyn Ivin – Made Up Stories, Amazon Studios, Fifth Season (Amazon Prime Video)
  • Best Reality Program: MasterChef Australia – David Forster, Simon Child, Eoin Maher, April Mackay – Endemol Shine Australia (Network Ten)
  • Best Screenplay in Television: Deadloch (Episode 1) – Kate McCartney, Kate McLennan
  • Best Stand-Up Special: Hannah Gadsby: Something Special – Hannah Gadsby, Kevin Whyte, Kathleen McCarthy, Jenney Shamash, Frank Bruzzese – Guesswork Television Pty Ltd (Netflix)
  • Best Casting in Television: Deadloch – Alison Telford, Kate Leonard
  • Best Cinematography in Television: The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart – Episode 1 – Sam Chiplin
  • Best Costume Design in Television: The Newsreader – Episode 4 – Zed Dragojlovich
  • Best Direction in Drama or Comedy: The Newsreader (Episode 4) – Emma Freeman
  • Best Direction in Nonfiction Television: The Australian Wars (Episode 1) – Rachel Perkins, Dylan River, Tov Belling
  • Best Documentary or Factual Program: The Australian Wars – Darren Dale, Rachel Perkins, Belinda Mravicic – Blackfella Films Pty Ltd (NITV, SBS)
  • Best Editing in a Documentary: The Australian Wars – Andrea Lang, Mark Atkin, Hilary Balmond
  • Best Editing in Television: Deadloch – Episode 1 – Angie Higgins
  • Best Entertainment Program: Eurovision Song Contest 2023 – Grand Final – Paul Clarke, Emily Griggs – Blink TV Production Pty Ltd (SBS)
  • Best Original Score in Television: Deadloch – Episode 1 – Amanda Brown
  • Best Production Design in Television: The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart – Episode 1 – Melinda Doring
  • Best Sound in Television: The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart – Episode 6 – David Lee, Robert Mackenzie, Leah Katz, James Ashton


  • Best Film: Barbie
  • Best Drama Series: Succession
  • Best Lead Actor in Film: Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer
  • Best Lead Actress in Film: Margot Robbie – Barbie
  • Best Supporting Actor in Film: Ryan Gosling – Barbie
  • Best Supporting Actress in Film: Vanessa Kirby – Napoleon
  • Best Comedy Series: The Bear
  • Best Actor in a Series: Jeremy Allen White – The Bear
  • Best Actress in a Series: Sarah Snook – Succession
  • Best Direction in Film: Oppenheimer – Christopher Nolan
  • Best Screenplay in Film: Poor Things – Tony McNamara


  • Best Documentary: John Farnham: Finding The Voice – Poppy Stockell (Dir.), Mikael Borglund, Paul Clarke, Martin Fabinyi, Olivia Hoopmann – Beyond Oz in association with Blink TV Production
  • Best Cinematography in a Documentary: The Giants – Sherwin Akbarzadeh
  • Best Original Score in a Documentary: The Dark Emu Story – Caitlin Yeo, Damien Lane
  • Best Sound in a Documentary: Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story – David Williams


  • Best Online Drama or Comedy: Latecomers – Liam Heyen, Hannah Ngo, Angus Thompson, Emma Myers, Nina Oyama, Madeleine Gottlieb, Alistair Baldwin – Mad Ones Films & Lazy Susan Films


  • Best Short Film: Finding Addison – Francisca Braithwaite, Jess Milne, Nick Bolton – Blue Sparrow Entertainment


  • Best Visual Effects or Animation: Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny – Andrew Whitehurst, Kathy Siegel, Alistair Williams, Julian Hutchens, Ian Cope – Rising Sun Pictures


  • Trailblazer Award Recipient: Margot Robbie
  • Byron Kennedy Award Recipient: Bruna Papandrea
  • Brian Walsh Award Recipient: Ngali Shaw
  • Reg Grundy Award Recipient: Rachel Berger (Seriously Funny)


  • Favourite Film: Barbie
  • Favourite TV Show: Ginny & Georgia
  • Favourite Actress: Margot Robbie
  • Favourite Actor: Adam Sandler
  • Favourite Australian Media Personality: Sophie Monk
  • Favourite Australian Digital Creator: Kat Clark and family @katclark
  • Favourite Australian Sporting Moment: Soccer: Matilda’s World Cup run